Philosopher of the Sublime

by Orpheus

supported by
A. J. Rex
A. J. Rex thumbnail
A. J. Rex A beautiful record that deserves more attention than it receives! The harmonious blend of traditional Black Metal melodics, modern Folklore and flawless musicianship truly lives up to the Sublimity it strives to evoke. Especially interesting when weighed against the artists' more recent works with Lychgate! Favorite track: Thee and Deference to the Sea.
  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Philosopher of the Sublime via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      £5 GBP




1. Lost for Centuries 01:54
2. To Resolve the Enigma of Defeat 06:30
3. The Mastery of Freedom (If Only It Were in My Power) 08:14
4. Philosopher of the Sublime 05:37
5. Refuge over Avenger's Abbey 01:20
6. It Shall Be Thus 02:51
7. Whispering of the Stars 02:57
8. Solemn Rites 05:06
9. Vox Clamantis 01:42 instrumental
10. Tutelary's Loss of Albion 08:48
11. Terra Incognita 03:44
12. Thee and Deference to the Sea 02:52
= 51:35

The instrumentation for 'Philosopher of the Sublime' was recorded over a period of three weeks in April/May 2008.
Vocals were recorded over random periods of time in late 2008 and early 2009.
Engineered by Shane Van Leeuwen
Produced by James Young and Thomas Vallely
Mixed and mastered by Jaime Gomez.
Released by Paradigms Recordings.


released May 24, 2010

Vocals, guitars, bass, piano, and keyboards by James Young
Drums and percussion by Thomas Vallely

Credit to David Dowland for lead guitars on
'To Resolve the Enigma of Defeat', 'It Shall be Thus' and 'Tutelary's Loss of Albion'.

Credit to Alexander.A for his vocal performance on 'To Resolve the Enigma of Defeat' and 'Whispering of the Stars'.

All music by James Young, with credit given to the 'Salterello' (14th century) melody on 'To Resolve the Enigma of Defeat'. All lyrics by James Young, with some influences from historical poetry.

Artwork and inlay by Alex Griffin
Design concepts by James Young
All photography by Shawn Haselgrove.

Other acknowledgements: A special thank you to Jaime.S for assisting in the making of the medieval drums, two of the masks, and in general providing useful advice and guidance. Thank you to Juan Tajes from the Netherlands for creating one of the masks used in Orpheus photos.



all rights reserved


Orpheus UK

Orpheus is an atmospheric alternative rock/metal project that was formed in 2006 by J.Young and T.Vallely. The lyrical themes revolve around nature, the ocean, exploration and history. The band released their debut album, 'Philosopher of the Sublime' in 2010 through London based label Paradigms Recordings. Their latest recording, 'The Mind's Exotica' is an independent release. ... more

contact / help

Contact Orpheus

Streaming and
Download help